Obvious Child

Obvious Child

I’m going to write a bit about Obvious Child, and there are going to be some spoilers, so if you haven’t seen the movie yet, and want to go into it not knowing what happens, maybe wait to read this until after you’ve seen it.

You can read the description of the movie here on our website, where you will also find showtimes, and other information.

This is one of those movies that feels like a best friend for me. Do you know what I mean? Some movies I just want to go see again and again, because I want to hang out with the movie, be in the same room with it, feel it’s energy. I want to see it in different moods, by myself, or with friends. I want to memorize scenes and think about them later.

The third word spoken in this movie is “vagina.” After the billions of male-genetalia-themed movies out there, I open my arms to welcomingly embrace the lovely (and hilarious) female body humor of Obvious Child. One of my favorite jokes in the movie is when Donna (Jenny Slate) does her butthole’s voice: “I GOTTA BE MEEEEE!” she belts out (insert fart noises).

Not only is Obvious Child laugh-out-loud funny, it’s also very real. I am so, so grateful for the scene in the Planned Parenthood doctor’s office. I have sat in that office before. I have cried at the price of medical visits that I could not afford due to lack of insurance. This scene, along with the overhead shot of Donna lying on her back during the abortion procedure, are two of the quieter moments of seriousness amongst a lot of jokes. And even in the latter there is a small laugh: when Donna spots the doctor’s shoes (Crocs– an inside joke from earlier), she smirks before turning her face back to us and letting a tear roll down her cheek. The balance of funny/sad is crucial to every story, and Obvious Child gets it just right.

This balance is illustrated in a scene towards the end, when Donna reveals her pregancy and imminent abortion on stage. Jenny Slate performs this excellently, with a vulnerability that makes the audience laugh and nod with understanding. She’s being completely herself. This is partly what makes her boyfriend break up with her at the beginning of the movie, but it’s also what gets her the much better guy later on. Donna’s gotta be herself, like her butthole says (“I GOTTA BE MEEE!” I still can’t stop laughing at that). That’s a great moral, I think: Be who you are, even if it turns some people off, because the right people will welcome you with open arms.

Obvious Child is now playing at Images Cinema thru Thursday 7/10. For more info and showtimes please visit our website: http://www.imagescinema.org

~ Anna

 

This entry was posted in Movie discussion and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

