Nebraska

20131110-DERN-slide-KFYJ-articleLarge

My grandpa usually hates movies. He has said to me on more than one occasion, “The only movie ever worth making was The African Queen.” But as we walked out of Nebraska he said, “Anna, I LOVED that movie.”

It’s rare that a movie like Nebraska comes along. It’s a gorgeous black-and-white gem with humor and emotion that many people can relate to. It’s about family, parent-child relationships, dying, living, making choices. It’s about those bleak little run-down towns in the Midwest. It’s about the past and the future. It’s about wanting a truck. I laughed– hard and out loud. I cried quietly behind my glasses. I looked at my dad sitting next to me and thought about my mom who passed away last April. I watched my grandpa smile with recognition, and my grandma jump out of her seat each time June Squibb yelled the F word.

It’s a knockout ensemble cast: Bruce Dern, Will Forte, June Squibb, Bob Odenkirk, and Stacy Keach, all with outstanding performances.

I’ve seen the movie 3 times so far, and can’t wait to see it again. Bring your family, your friends, everyone you know.

There will be an After Images discussion of the film after the 7pm show on Tuesday Feb. 11th. 

NEBRASKA is now playing at Images Cinema through Thursday February 13th. For more info and showtimes, please visit www.imagescinema.org.

 

~ Anna

This entry was posted in Movie discussion and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

