The Sapphires

the-sapphires_02jpg_cmyk The_Sapphires_Cynthia_Dave_Kay_Gail_Julie

When I first saw the poster for The Sapphires I thought, “What is this? I’ve never heard of this. Chris O’Dowd is in Girls, right?” Then I saw the trailer and thought, “Okay, this is going to be fun, definitely some great soul music.” And after watching the film itself, my first thought was “I love this!” as I danced my way up the aisle to the credits music.

I don’t know why this movie doesn’t seem to have much press or why it isn’t being talked about, but it’s fantastic. It’s full of emotions: sadness, hope, love, jealousy, forgiveness. And of course it’s full of soul, and music, and dancing. It’s one of those movies that builds from a slow steam to a rolling boil– much like the songs they sing. The Sapphires about a lot more than I expected: race, identity, politics, war, while at the same time being a story about following a dream and finding your voice. It’s subtle, funny, sad, lovely, and you’re gonna want the soundtrack.

The Sapphires is now playing at Images Cinema through Thursday 5/23. Please visit our website for showtimes and details http://www.imagescinema.org

~Anna

This entry was posted in Movie discussion and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

