Ruby Sparks

Hi, it’s me, Anna again.

I get a lot of flack for saying I like pretty much every movie I see. People ask me, “Did you like the movie?” and I say, “Yeah, I did.” and they say, “Oh, you like everything.”

In a way it’s true. I love movies. The experience of going to a theater, sitting in my favorite seat, eating popcorn. Or laying in bed at home with Netflix, or watching a movie from up in the projection booth at work. The experience of watching a movie. That someone made this thing, put a lot of time and energy into it, that a whole group of people did this– and now I’m watching it. I love that. I love being told stories. I love the dark, the light. So, in a way, I like every movie I see simply because it is a movie.

So, I guess I’m in the right line of work here at Images.

But this does not mean I have no real opinion. A better question than, “Did you like it?” would be “What do you think about it?” As I pose this question to myself in regards to Ruby Sparks, I have a lot to say.

Calvin, the protagonist, is a writer, and he invents his perfect girl in Ruby– who then becomes a real flesh-and-blood person. This works out great at first, but then Ruby starts to become her own person, not always doing or saying what Calvin wants her to, and not always finding Calvin himself so charming.

When you first meet someone, it feels as if the universe invented them just for you. You fall in love. He/She is perfect for you in so many ways. You enjoy just being in their presence and smile at everything they say. You can’t imagine not being attracted to them or they to you. And then time passes, and it changes. Because you are both real people and being a person is complicated and hard.

Calvin’s brother, Harry, admonishes him at first for writing about his “perfect girl” and that he knows nothing about real women. He tells him that the honeymoon always ends, and then the real relationship begins. We’ve all been there: at the end of the honeymoon period when we have to decide if this thing is worth it, if we love this person with all their faults and all their human-ness, and if we are willing to compromise, share, open up. And this is why I think most people will relate to Ruby Sparks and find lots of things to think and talk about– especially if you bring your significant other.

What gives this film an extra layer of “Meta” is that the movie was written by Zoe Kazan, the actress who plays Ruby, and that she and Paul Dano (who plays Calvin) are a real life couple. So, a woman writes a movie about her boyfriend writing a book about her.

Plus there’s a fun soundtrack of French pop songs.

Ruby Sparks is now playing at Images Cinema through Thurs. 9/20. For info, showtimes, and to watch the trailer go to our website.

~ Anna

PS – I still don’t know how I feel about the ending.

This entry was posted in Movie discussion. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Ruby Sparks

  1. Pingback: Ruby Sparks | Lev Hardware

  2. Anna, I have the same reactions to films – I just love them because they are films! thanks for pointing out the real life connection between Zoe Kazan and Paul Dano. I remembered Dano from Little Miss Sunshine and thought he was terrific in it (the older brother). In Ruby Sparks, I thought it was interesting that as Ruby became more real to Calvin, he also became more of a human being with his own relationship issues. The film reminds me a little of the musical “Into The Woods”, because the moral of the story is be careful what you wish for – and real life is messy, painful, but we need to reach out and communicate with each other. Thanks for doing the blog – I look forward to more posts!

  3. PS., I just checked out the rest of your blog. You and your Mom might like to look at this blog http://michigoose-longtermbcsurvivor.blogspot.com/ She’s been writing about having cancer for 14 years.

Leave a Reply

